Showing posts with label Movie Review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Movie Review. Show all posts

Wednesday, August 16, 2017

Thought Corner: Power Rangers (2017)

Title: Power Rangers (2017)
Produced by: Haim Saban; Brian Casentini; Marty Bowen; Wyck Godfrey
Directed by: Dean Israelite
Story by: Matt Sazama; Burk Sharpless; Michele Mulroney; Kieran Mulroney 
US Release Date: March 24, 2017
Viewing Format: Redbox DVD Rental
Going into Power Rangers (2017), I honestly didn’t know what to expect. All I remember of it was the old series I used to watch when I was a kid during—or was it after? Before?—the Saturday morning cartoon block. Still, I’ve heard nothing but good things about the film and was excited to watch it. And you know what? Power Rangers was actually really good. I was surprised by how much I liked the film.

I was prepared for a certain level of cheesiness. Instead, what I got was a well-thought out movie with aliens, superpowers, and Zords (cause you can’t forget about the Zords). But that wasn’t all. This movie also explored the complicated and often messy side of life from the perspectives of characters from different and diverse backgrounds. I liked how this film was made, and the action sequences and training scenes were interesting to watch. The characters are worth making mention of because they were my favorite part of the movie. They weren’t perfect, squeaky clean hero characters who never did or got anything wrong. No, they were allowed to make mistakes and grow from them, all the while learning how to be Power Rangers. The individual and collective character development was spot on. They were great individually, but I liked when they worked together as a team.

I didn’t think I’d say it, but this movie was pretty awesome. I’ve come to one conclusion: I need a sequel. I don’t know if there will be one, but hey, you never know.

What about you? Have you seen Power Rangers? If so, tell me what you thought about the movie in the comments down below.

Saturday, April 9, 2016

Movie Review: Batman V Superman: Dawn of Justice

I haven’t done a movie review in a long time. However, I wanted to share what I thought about a movie I recently saw. So, today, that's what I intend to do. From the title of the post, I'm sure you can guess which one. But first, a little more about it...

Title: Batman V Superman: Dawn of Justice
Directed by Zack Snyder
Produced by Charles Roven & Deborah Snyder
Written by Chris Terrio & David S. Goyer
Release Date: March 25, 2016
CLICK HERE for the Official Website
So, I went to see Batman V Superman: Dawn of Justice. It wasn’t bad, and actually, I liked the film a whole lot more than I thought I would.

The story is basically about Batman (Bruce Wane, portrayed by Ben Affleck) and Superman (Clark Kent, portrayed by Henry Cavill) getting into a dispute. To me, it seemed like a warring of different opinions on how to handle injustice, as well as portraying themes of revenge and obsession. The tone was definitely darker without much humor to compensate for the bleak outlook of most scenes found throughout the movie.

Batman V Superman did have a lot of dialogue added between the scenes of tension and action. However, all the dialogue did set up a chain of events, which played out over the course of the film. The characters were both shown in their separate lives, and eventually how their situations collided. These things played a part in affecting Batman and Superman’s attitude towards one another.

There were parts that moved a little slower and were packed with information, but I didn’t mind them much. And when compared to what I liked about the film, it wasn’t that big of a fault. However, I do feel like the trailer provided some spoilers about what happened later in the film, which I was a little disappointed by. But, the visuals were nice; the cinematic score was dramatic and catchy, and a definite highlight was Wonder Woman, who I want to see more of (I have my fingers crossed in the hopes that Wonder Woman's independent movie will be good).

And then there was Alexander (Lex) Luthor (played by Jesse Eisenberg). I was not expecting his character to be done so well. At first appearance he seemed like, I don’t know, an ordinary person. But then, his troubling behavior evolved into something more sinister, which showed his true colors. In short, Lex Luthor was a convincing villain.

I tried to keep an open mind with the movie. So, I went in with the mindset of forming my own opinion. And overall, Batman V Superman: Dawn of Justice wasn’t really that bad.

So, have you seen the movie yet? What did you think of it? Did you like it, hate it, or just feel sort of meh about it?

Wednesday, July 8, 2015

Movie Review: Jupiter Ascending (2015)

Title: Jupiter Ascending
Director(s): Andy & Lana Wachowskis
Produced by: Grant Hill, The Wachowskis 
Written By: The Wachowskis
Rating: PG-13
Release Date: February 6, 2015
Source: Rented from Redbox
Gifs & Movie Poster from the official Jupiter Ascending website (Check them out here)
Yes, I actually watched this movie from start to finish because I was curious to see what it was like. My initial thoughts—upon seeing the trailer—for Jupiter Ascending was that it was going to be a science fiction/fantasy film of epic proportions. But after watching the movie, I was more than a little disappointed by it.

Here’s the thing, Jupiter Ascending had a lot of potential to be great, but suffered from too many flaws.

Albeit, visually stunning, the movie fails in the story department. I felt like I was watching different, segmented scenes with transitions that couldn’t properly put them together. Thus, the entire movie felt like a video game with villains popping in and out—disappearing altogether once what they had to offer to the plot was over and done with. I would have liked to see more of a resolution, but instead, I was left feeling like I’d just sat through two hours of something that wasn’t complete—like it needed a sequel to further explore the world.

For one thing, this movie was incredibly long, and some of the scenes felt like they lasted forever, like they were fillers to take up some of the space. At several times I found myself a little bored by it. Now the detail put into the visual aspects were as I said above, nice—even stunning—especially the scenes directly involving space and the various planets featured in the movie—as well as the alien technology/Abrasax ships. And then there was Jupiter Jones (played by Mila Kunis), ugh, I felt like she just sort of had this I’m-kind-of-bored expression throughout the entire movie. And when she actually did something productive—being saved by Caine Wise (played by Channing Tatum) doesn’t count—that it seemed so out of character for her that it was almost entirely unbelievable. Her character could have been better if developed more. Caine Wise was a complete (not even borderline) dues ex machina. His presence was more than convenient, and he showed up whenever Jupiter seemed to be stuck, which happened way too often. Now the characters weren’t all bad and Diomika Tsing (played by Nikki Amuka-Bird) was probably my favorite character in the entire movie. She was the captain that oversaw the Aegis ship that was present in the movie—she was kind of awesome.

At the end of the day, Jupiter Ascending seemed like the kind of movie that would interest me, but the story itself basically destroyed my enjoyment of the film. If you want to see this movie I suggest renting it before buying it.

Friday, June 26, 2015

Movie Review: Max (2015)

Title: Max (2015)
Director: Boaz Yakin
Screenwriter: Boaz Yakin & Sheldon Lettich
Release Date: June 26, 2015
Rated PG
For More Information visit Max-Official Movie Site.

Max-Official Movie Trailer

Max is a heartfelt tearjerker that will keep you engrossed every second of the way. We don’t think there will be a dry eye in the theater. The execution of the movie and pacing were simply perfect. Each scene was so realistically portrayed that it took you right into the moment. And although we had seen the scenes that included the explosion on the battlefield and Kyle's funeral in the trailer, it still elicited tears and chills when they were played through. It broached the topic of the loyalty of a dog. We loved how the dedicated service dog developed a new bond and helped Kyle’s family heal after his death. Although we went into this movie thinking that it would be just average, we were pleasantly surprised that this was one of the best movies we’ve seen this year.—It’s definitely a must see this summer!
***Thanks to Warner Bros. Pictures we attended an advance screening of Max on June 18, 2015***

Wednesday, June 24, 2015

Movie Review: Inside Out (2015)

Picture Retrieved 6/23/2015 from
Inside Out Official Website
Picture Retrieved 6/23/2015 from
Inside Out Official Website
Title:  Inside Out (2015)
Directors: Pete Doctor & Renaldo Del Carmen
Writers: Pete Doctor & Renaldo Del Carmen
Screenwriters: Meg LeFauve, Josh Cooley & Pete Doctor

Release Date: June 19, 2015
Rated: PG 

Click on the link to find out more about Inside Out
Inside Out was a cute, funny and sometimes sad movie that will take you on an emotional roller coaster ride like never before; that is considering that this is a movie about emotions.  As Riley (Kaitlyn Dias) tries to make sense of her family's move and adjust to her new home, her emotions go awry. The journey inside Riley’s mind provides an insider’s view of what happens when an individual struggles with change. As such, Joy (Amy Poehler), Fear (Bill Hader), Sadness (Phyllis Smith), Anger (Lewis Black), and Disgust (Mindy Kaling) came into play. Things got slightly tumultuous as Joy was on a happy, happy, happy crusade and sadness seemed like extra weight to carry around. Fear brought some humor to the screen and Anger—well; there were just times when he was out of control. And Disgust—well just take a look at this trailer….


Yeah, she was a opinionated and added a touch of sass to the mix. Needless to say, Riley’s behavior was questionable at times. Much of the focus remained on the interworking of Riley’s mind, mainly Joy and Sadness. And although Joy initially had her head in the clouds (everything was happy) and seemed to think that the world revolved around her, I liked the important realization she made upon falling into a dark pit. As for the negative aspects of the film, there were some drawn-out scenes and watching it in 3D didn’t enhance the visual effects. Yet,  Inside Out remains an entertaining, family friendly movie.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...